Who Has Won the Most Super Bowl MVP Awards?

The Super Bowl MVP award is presented to the most valuable player in the annual Super Bowl game, which determines the champion team for the NFL season.

Since its inception in Super Bowl I in 1967, the award has been won by 48 players, with Tom Brady the most recent recipient after claiming MVP honors in Super Bowl LV for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. 

Of the 49 past winners, 31 of those were listed as Quarterbacks. The Dallas Cowboys claim the most individual winners by a team with seven.

Only five players have won the MVP award multiple times. They are:

Tom Brady - 5 Super Bowl MVP Awards

Commonly referred to as the greatest NFL player of all time, Tom Brady (QB) has had a career spanning more than two decades, predominantly with the New England Patriots, but most recently with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. It was with the Pats where Brady won six Super Bowl trophies, claiming individual honors in four of those games in Super Bowl XXXVI, XXXVIII, XLIX, and LI, before winning a fifth in Super Bowl LV with the Bucs.

MORE: List of Super Bowl Trends Since 2010

Joe Montana - 3 Super Bowl MVP Awards

Hall of Famer Joe Montana (QB) is royalty in San Francisco where he led the 49ers to four Super Bowl triumphs over an 8-year span in the 1980s and early 90s, picking up the MVP award in Super Bowls XVI, XIX and XXIV. His 92-yard game-winning drive in Super Bowl XXIII against the Cincinnati Bengals remains one of the greatest football moments of all time.

MORE: List of Super Bowl MVP Winners

Bart Starr - 2 Super Bowl MVP Awards

Starr's career pre-dates the Super Bowl era where he won 5 NFL titles with the Green Bay Packers in the early 60s, but his legacy will be claiming the first two Super Bowls ever played, along with the first two MVP awards.

MORE: Best Super Bowl Prop Bets

Terry Bradshaw - 2 Super Bowl MVP Awards

Modern-day NFL fans may know former Pittsburgh Steelers Quarterback Bradshaw as one of the faces of Fox's NFL Sunday coverage, or the star or a reality TV show on E! (if you're into that thing), but in the 1970s and early 80s, the former number 1 overall pick led the Steelers to a prolonged period of success, winning four Super Bowl titles. Two MVPs were awarded to Bradshaw in Super Bowl XIII and XIV.

MORE: Biggest Upsets in Super Bowl History

Eli Manning - 2 Super Bowl MVP Awards

Also a former number 1 overall pick in the NFL Draft, Eli Manning played with the New York Giants for 16 seasons. Impressively, in an era known for the domination of Tom Brady and the New England Patriots, Manning and the Giants were able to defeat the Pats on two occasions in Super Bowl XLII and XLVI with the man originally from Ole Miss winning the MVP award on both occasions.

More from Dimers
About Dimers
icon 22,000+
Events covered per year
icon 8,000,000+
Our partners